Said last time...
There's a second volume of her (Shirley Jackson's) stuff I wanna get too.
Shirley Jackson: Four Novels of the 1940s & 50s (2020)
Bam, got it!
Took three weeks and a day, but I got it.
Now I've got it all.
That's the photo of her that was in all of my HS English books, BTW.
I like that one better. There's a little Jack Nicholson swoop to the eyebrows like "mauhahahaa!".
IMHO.
😏
I also got....
Sinners (2025)
Looks very "Lovecraft Country" and "Ring Shout".
It was originally a pitch to Marvel for the Blade movie.
Boy, did Marvel ever fucking blow it, huh?
I wanted to get this right after the Oscars, but the Shirley Jackson book snail-crawling to Bullmoose dragged it out.
Wanted to make it all one trip, see.
So!! That's those!
Stay tuned for the reviews!



1 comment:
I watched the Chevy Chase documentary, "I'm Chevy Chase And You're Not." I'm not really sure what the hell to think. There are forty jillion stories about Chevy being a complete asshole and yet he still doesn't seem to have completely blown all his cred--the movie ends with a lot of people saying they'd still work with him again even though they personally experienced him being a dick. His parents obviously treated him like shit (and he didn't actually come from old money like people think) and he viciously apologizes a whole bunch of times for stuff, then also says he's not sorry for who he is. His family says he's never awful to *them* and they all take his side on everything. He's also obviously been raked pretty hard over the coals a jillion times for all his sins.
The Bill Murray fistfight isn't mentioned (thank God, that's a dumb overrated story and I'm tired of people bringing it up) and neither is Chase's early rock band Chameleon Church or his little 1968 film "Walk...Don't Walk" or his failed 1980 solo album that he did, nor are the other SNL appearances where he pissed people off just like he did in 1978 and 1985. His response to the 1985 incident where he told gay cast member Terry Sweeney that he should "lick his balls" and that they should do a sketch where they say he has AIDS and should weigh him every week has to be seen to be believed, first he says he doesn't remember it, then he says that Terry Sweeney died a long time ago (he didn't), then he says that Sweeney is lying even though they just got done showing you Lorne Michaels saying that he (Lorne) was in the room when it happened.
Conclusion: Chevy Chase is probably bipolar or chaotic or damaged from coke or something. He also looks really old and out of it now and will probably not be living much longer, he already got brought back from the dead due to heart failure from too much coke and shit.
Post a Comment